board of directors

As a nonprofit educational institution, the Center for Excellence in Higher Education is overseen by a high-caliber board of directors. Members of the board bring decades of experience, insight, and knowledge to the table. In all their decisions, board members are united in the common goal to help students graduate faster and get better jobs.

Eric S. Juhlin


Mr. Eric S. Juhlin is the President and Chief Executive Officer of CEHE (dba Stevens-Henager College, CollegeAmerica, California College San Diego, and Independence University). Mr. Juhlin has been the CEO since 2010. Mr. Juhlin has held top leadership positions in all facets of college operations. He has extensive experience ranging from strategic planning, to day-to-day school operations, to accreditation practices, and compliance procedures. Prior to leading CEHE, Mr. Juhlin owned and operated a group of nationally accredited colleges in Texas. Mr. Juhlin has served as Chairman for Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS), Commissioner for ACICS, Chairman of the Career Training Foundation, Chairman of Career College Association, and Chairman of the Career College and Schools of Texas.

Carl Barney is the Chairman of CEHE and former owner of Stevens-Henager, CollegeAmerica, California College San Diego and Independence University. For over 25 years, Mr. Barney developed his organization from one small college into a higher education enterprise with up to 19 locations and an online division serving approximately 10,000 students in six western states. In December 2012, Mr. Barney merged the organization with CEHE. Mr. Barney describes his leadership style as philosophy-based management. He has studied traditional philosophy for over 20 years. He admires Aristotle and, in particular, Ayn Rand and her philosophy, Objectivism, which he views as the “philosophy of success for successful people.” He has served on the board of the Ayn Rand Institute; the Cato Institute; LePort Schools; and the Business Education Research Associates.

Carl Barney

Chairman Emeritus

William C. Dennis

Treasurer and Director

From 1968 to 1985 William C. Dennis (B.A. Earlham, 1963; Ph.D. Yale 1971) was a professor of American History at Denison University. For several years he was also a director of the Denison Wilderness Program. During the first Regan administration, he served two years as a Special Assistant to the Assistant Secretary for Policy, Budget, and Administration in the U.S. Department of the Interior. He is a member, and onetime president, of The Philadelphia Society. Dr. Dennis served Liberty Fund, Inc., and its sister organization, the Pierre F. and Enid Goodrich Foundation, in various capacities, including Program Officer, Director of Publications, and Director of Grants from 1985 to 2011. He ran the book-publishing program of Liberty Fund for two years and attended as Program Officer, discussion leader, participant, or observer of 275 Liberty Fund conferences. After work on projects for other tax exempt philanthropic organizations, he is now retired and living in Bozeman, MT.

Roy Hurd is Chairman, CEO, and President of Empire College. Mr. Hurd’s background encompasses over 40 years of leadership experience in postsecondary education and college administration. For the past 24 years, he has served as President of Empire College in Santa Rosa, a business college and law school with a population of 750 day and evening students. Mr. Hurd has served as a college evaluator for the Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools, a national accrediting body for private postsecondary schools, and the Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education of the State of California. In addition, he has served on the Board and as Chairman of the California Association of Private Postsecondary Schools. Mr. Hurd is a Rotarian and Past Chairman of the Board of the Santa Rosa Chamber of Commerce, the Wells Fargo Center for the Performing Arts, and the Sonoma County Workforce Investment Board. In 2007 Mr. Hurd was recipient of the Sonoma County Spirit Award, which recognized his contributions to the Sonoma County Workforce Investment Board. He currently sits on the boards of the Sonoma County Workforce Investment Board, Sonoma County Youth Council, North Bay Technology Roundtable, and the Sonoma County Office of Education’s Ad Hoc Advisory Committee on the Student Technology Training Center.

Roy O. Hurd

President and Director

Kenneth J. Konesco


Kenneth J. Konesco was formerly the CEO of Educational Management Corporation. Prior to being CEO, Mr. Konesco was the President of Harrison College from December 1986 – January 2010. Prior to that, Mr. Konesco spent 15 years in leadership positions with Bryant & Stratton College in Buffalo, New York managing five campuses having in excess of 7,000 students. Mr. Konesco was a past commissioner with the Accrediting Council for Independent Colleges and Schools (ACICS) and served as chairman of the board of ACICS from 1999-2000. Mr. Konesco served for five years and as board member for the Indiana Association of Private Career Schools and in 1996 was appointed by Governor Bayh to serve as a commissioner for the Commission on Proprietary Education. Additionally, Mr. Konesco has served as a board member for Rotary Club of Indianapolis, Old National Bank, Legatus, Cole Noble District Association, and Providence Cristo Rey High School.

Dr. Agarwal is the Rudolph Lamone Chair and Professor in Entrepreneurship and Strategy at the University of Maryland. Since 2014, Dr. Agarwal has also been the Director of the Ed Snider Center for Enterprise and Markets at the University of Maryland. Prior to her positions at the University of Maryland, Dr. Agarwal held the following positions at the University of Illinois: BioBEL Faculty Affliliate at the Institute of Genomic Biology, John Georges Professor in Technology Management and Strategy, Director of Innovation and Technology Management Initiatives, Program Director of Certificate in Entrepreneurship and Management, Scholar-in-Residence with the Academy of Entrepreneurial Leadership. Dr. Agarwal holds a Ph.D. in Economics from SUNY-Buffalo, an M.A. in Economics from SUNY-Buffalo, an M.A. in Economics from Bombay University, and a B.A. in Economics from Bombay University. Dr. Agarwal has received numerous academic awards and published over 50 research items in peer reviewed journals.

Dr. Rajshree Agarwal